Chapbook: A Collaboration of Poets and Poetry

  • This event has passed.

DateApril 5, 2018 @ 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Time07:00 pm - 08:00 pm

Location 10091 McGregor Blvd.
Fort Myers, 33919 United States

PriceFree & Open to the Public


Event details

To kick off National Poetry Month, the Alliance will partner with local poets in creating its’ inaugural Chapbook. This celebratory reading and reception is free and open to the public.

Congratulations to the accepted poets and poemsFourteen Months by Marnie Heenan, The Summer After Freshman Year by Eddie Krzeminski, The Things You Never Told Me by Heather Guevara,  Hillbilly Haiku by Rusty Gere, To Be or Not to Be by Gloria RasmussenForgotten by Joe Pacheco, Full Moon Light by John Robilotta, In This House by Gary McLouth, The Moment You Know Your Life is Going to Change by Dorothy Brooks, Tools by Chris Godwin, Cellophane Man  by Marilyn Mecca, Swan Upping by Jim Gustafson, Kudzu Hymn by Jesse Millner, Visit by the Whites by Dobie Pasco and Springtime Sleep by Joyce Peseroff.

Featured artwork: Before Dawn by Leigh Herndon

About juror Joyce Peseroff

The 2018 Chapbook Juror will be Joyce Peseroff. Peseroff is the author of five collections of poetry, including The Hardness Scale (1977, reissued in 2000), A Dog in the Lifeboat (1991), Mortal Education (2000), Eastern Mountain Time (2006), and Know Thyself (2015, Carnegie Mellon Poetry Series). Her most recent collection was designated a “must read” by the 2016 Massachusetts Books Awards. She has served as an editor for Ploughshares and edited The Ploughshares Poetry Reader (1987), Robert Bly: When Sleepers Awake (1984), and Simply Lasting: Writers on Jane Kenyon (2005).

Her honors include grants from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Massachusetts Artists Foundation as well as a Pushcart Prize. Peseroff lives in Bedford, Massachusetts, and spends the winter in N. Fort Myers, Florida She taught at the University of Massachusetts-Boston, where she directed the Creative Writing MFA Program in its first four years.